Book Trailer, Production

Production: More Book Stuff

Well… well well well well. Buggar, I think i may have shot myself in the foot with the whole not doing a normal animation thing. I do believe the concept was bloody fantastic, it’s just I’m really not a hands on guy. I’m not really a fan of doing stop motion, I don’t even like using paint (it’s too messy) but i still decided to do something physical of which i have no idea how to do.

Okay well the whole animating the book/ paper falling thing is more complicated than i thought, though to be honest i have never really had a good idea of how the paper falling animation would work. I suppose I don’t really have any idea about how any of this stuff works though, I have been going into everything completely devoid of experience with only some theory which i am hesitant about to confirm what I wanted to do.

So I have to make a new way for the paper to be anchored for its fall (the nails we were using before are no longer sufficient due to the fact that they don’t work in the book spine thing.) So i discussed with Christ (the tutor) about alternatives to the nails. Billy also butted in and had to have his say (as always) and he suggested using ring binders, not a bad idea really, when he left i discussed it more with Chris saying about how maybe we could bury the middle part of the ring binder mechanism under some paper spine material as to hide its ring binder nature. But Chris suggested using these hoop nails which seem to be called netting staples. It seems they come in a large variety of sizes so they could be big enough to suit my purposes and they are rigid like the nails were, and when all bound together it will make all the pages even and together as a single book which would be nice, to have them all in order ready for fish line animating.

Also on a side note I just finished off a laser cutting session (hopefully the last) and voila!

IMG_0517

Standard

Leave a comment